

RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences

Criminal Justice Contact and Inequality

VOLUME 5, NUMBER 1, FEBRUARY 2019



The Russell Sage Foundation

The Russell Sage Foundation, one of the oldest of America's general purpose foundations, was established in 1907 by Mrs. Margaret Olivia Sage for "the improvement of social and living conditions in the United States." The foundation seeks to fulfill this mandate by fostering the development and dissemination of knowledge about the country's political, social, and economic problems. While the foundation endeavors to assure the accuracy and objectivity of each book it publishes, the conclusions and interpretations in Russell Sage Foundation publications are those of the authors and not of the foundation, its trustees, or its staff. Publication by Russell Sage, therefore, does not imply foundation endorsement.

Board of Trustees

Claude M. Steele, Chair Lawrence F. Katz Larry M. Bartels David Laibson Cathy J. Cohen Nicholas Lemann Karen S. Cook Sara S. McLanahan Sheldon H. Danziger Martha Minow Peter R. Orszag Kathryn Edin Jason Furman Mario Luis Small Michael Jones-Correa Hirokazu Yoshikawa

Mission Statement

RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars. It is designed to promote cross-disciplinary collaborations on timely issues of interest to academics, policymakers, and the public at large. Each issue is thematic in nature and focuses on a specific research question or area of interest. The introduction to each issue will include an accessible, broad, and synthetic overview of the research question under consideration and the current thinking from the various social sciences.

RSF Journal Editorial Board

Elizabeth O. Ananat, Duke Helen Levy, University of University Michigan Sheldon H. Danziger, Martha Minow, Harvard Russell Sage Foundation University Mesmin Destin, Mary E. Pattillo, Northwestern University Northwestern University Shigeo Hirano, Columbia Becky Pettit, University of University Texas at Austin Maria Krysan, University of Miguel S. Urquiola, Illinois, Chicago Columbia University Michal Kurlaender, University of California, Davis

Copyright © 2019 by Russell Sage Foundation. All rights reserved. Printed in the United States of America. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without the prior written permission of the publisher. Reproduction by the United States Government in whole or in part is permitted for any purpose.

Opinions expressed in this journal are not necessarily those of the editors, editorial board, trustees, or the Russell Sage Foundation.

We invite scholars to submit proposals for potential issues through the *RSF* application portal: https://rsfjournal.onlineapplicationportal.com/. Submissions should be addressed to Suzanne Nichols, Director of Publications.

To view the complete text and additional features online please go to **www.rsfjournal.org**.

Open Access Policy

RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is an open access journal. It is published under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-No Derivs 3.0 Unported License.

Russell Sage Foundation

112 East 64th Street New York, NY 10065

ISSN (print): 2377-8253 ISSN (electronic): 2377-8261

ISBN: 978-0-87154-746-0